Kirby, The Suffolk Traveller A Topographical and Historical Description of the County of Suffolk; Woodbridge; 1839
Suffolk contains many rabbit-warrens, especially in the western sand district. One of them near Brandon, is estimated to return about 40,000 rabbits in a year. Of late years, however, considerable tracts occupied by them have been plought up, and converted into arable and pasture land.
Bury St. Edmund's is pleasantly situated on the west side of the river Larke, and having a charming enclosed country on the south and south-west, with champaign fields extending in to Norfolk, is upon the whole so salubrious as to be called the Montpellier of England.
Brandon is agreeably situated on the Little Ouse, and had formerly a market, now discontinued. It contains 250 houses and 1770 inhabitants, and has three annual fairs for cattle and toys, on the 14th of February, 11th of June, and 11th of November. The river being navigable from Lynn to Thetford, has a bridge over it at this place, and a mile lower down a ferry over for conveying goods to and from the Isle of Ely. Brandon is pretty well built, and the church is a good structure. Some extensive rabbit warrens in the neighbourhood largely contribute to the supply of the London markets. One of which alone is said to furnish 40,000 rabbits in a year. Here is also a manufactory of gun-flints, the refuse of which, thrown together at the end of the town, form such heaps as would astonish a stranger on account of their magnitude.
Downham … now called Santon Downham, by reason of a sand-flood, as it may be called, which happened in the year 1668; the circumstances of which are related at large in the following letter, written by Thomas Wright, esq; the living upon the spot, and a great sufferer by it.